Department of Defense Holds Annual Disability Awards Ceremony

Targeted News Service

WASHINGTON, Dec. 4 -- The U.S. Department of Defense issued the following news release:

The 32nd Annual Department of Defense Disability Awards Ceremony was hosted today by Frederick E. Vollrath, performing the duties of assistant secretary of defense for readiness and force management, in the Pentagon Auditorium. This annual event provides an overview of DoD disability policy and initiatives, recognizes DoD organizations for their efforts in the employment of individuals with disabilities, and highlights the accomplishments of DoD employees with disabilities and wounded, ill, or injured service members.

"Diversity is essential and has been a key to the success of our armed forces and civilian workforce," said Vollrath. "When we embrace a range of talent and perspective, our ability to defend our Nation grows stronger."

Special Assistant to the President for Disability Policy Kareem A. Dale was the keynote speaker and expanded upon this year's National Disability Employment Awareness Month's theme, "A Strong Workforce is an Inclusive Workforce: What Can YOU Do?"

DoD's Director of Disability Programs Stephen King also spoke at the ceremony. "The bottom line is America must employ the talents, skills, and capabilities of incredibly bright and productive citizens -- both in and out of uniform -- who want to serve our country," said King. "People with disabilities often face unique challenges; we need that type of problem-solving ability and skill in the workplace."

The following 17 DoD employees with disabilities and wounded, ill, or injured service members received Secretary of Defense awards for their outstanding contributions to national security:

David L. Miller, Department of the Army

Staff Sgt. Alexander Shaw, United States Army

Staff Sgt. Donald G. Sistrunk, United States Army

Bruce Baraw, Department of the Navy

Sgt. Julian P. Torres, United States Marine Corps

Capt. Ryan McGuire, United States Air Force

LaVonne Rosenthal, National Guard Bureau

Grayson J. Colegrove, Army and Air Force Exchange Service

Billy W. Bowens, Defense Commissary Agency

Ultimate IUL Client Presentations

Thomas G. Pisoni, Defense Contract Audit Agency

Samson Isaacs, Defense Contract Management Agency

Edward L. Bright, Defense Finance and Accounting Service

Sarah E. Gunn, Defense Intelligence Agency

John A. Clark Jr., Defense Logistics Agency

Carl Doeler, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency

Julia G. Orth, National Security Agency

The following four DoD components received secretary of defense awards for their outstanding achievements in the employment of individuals with disabilities:

Department of the Air Force

Defense Logistics Agency

Defense Technical Information Center

National Security Agency

TNS MD66 121205-4127965 61MariaDonald

Copyright:(c) 2012 Targeted News Service


  More Newswires

More Newswires >>
  Most Popular Newswires

More Popular Newswires >>
Hot Off the Wires  Hot off the Wires

More Hot News >>

insider icon Denotes premium content. Learn more about becoming an Insider here.
Ultimate IUL Client Presentations