Michigan Municipal League Fund Announces Loss Control Achievement Awards

Targeted News Service

LANSING, Mich., May 9 -- Michigan Municipal League issued the following news release:

Twenty-nine Michigan communities have earned statewide honors for their outstanding efforts in maintaining safe work environments.

The Michigan Municipal League Workers' Compensation Fund (mml.org/insurance) has issued its annual Loss Control Achievement Awards for 2013-2014 to the communities listed below. The certificates were mailed to community winners Wednesday, May 7.

"These awards represent the best of the best when it comes to communities being safe places for their employees and citizens," said Michael Forster, director of risk management services for the Michigan Municipal League. "The awards reflect excellent management and an understanding that making safety a priority clearly protects their staffs, residents and budgets."

The awards are based on a community's Experience Modification Factor (EMF) rating, using a formula measuring the frequency and severity of employee injuries over a 3 1/2-year time period. The average EMF is 1.00. Any fund member with an EMF under 1.00 saves significant premium dollars.

"Lowest EMF" 2013-2014 Award Winners*

City of Brighton (.62)

Village of Central Lake (.88)

City of Essexville (.77)

City of Farmington Hills (.69)

City of Lathrup Village (.74)

Marquette County (.60)

City of Marysville (.65)

Montrose Charter Township (.77)

City of Negaunee (.65)

City of Sault Ste. Marie (.68)

Village of Sparta (.74)

Are you offering the right health coverage to your senior clients?

Village of Ubly (.87)

Vienna Charter Township (.88)

West Bloomfield Parks & Recreation (.67)

City of Whitehall (.72)

*( ) = EMF

"Most Improved EMF" 2013-2014 Award Winners*

City of Belding (-.30)

City of Bloomfield Hills (-.43)

Clay Township (-.34)

Village of Decatur (-.38)

Village of Ellsworth (-.36)

Forsyth Township (-.30)

City of Iron Mountain (-.33)

Lawton Fire Department (-.45)

Village of New Haven (-.62)

City of Oak Park (-.74)

City of Roosevelt Park (-.25)

City of Sault Ste. Marie (-.59)

Village of Stockbridge (-.38)

Wheatland Township - Mecosta County (-.32)

*( ) = percent decrease, comparing the most recent policy year (7/1/12-6/30/13) to the calculation for the

current policy year (7/1/13-6/30/14)

MMLWCF Board of Trustees

George Bosanic, City Manager, Greenville

Are you offering the right health coverage to your senior clients?

Frank Brock, Jr., Mayor, Lathrup Village

Christine Burns, City Manager, Cedar Springs

Frank Campbell, Mayor, Hastings

Maureen Donker, Mayor, Midland

Daniel P. Gilmartin, Executive Director & CEO, Michigan Municipal League

Kenneth Hibl, City Manager, Clare

Elva Mills, Village President, Lexington

Larry Nielsen, City Manager, Paw Paw

Daniel Reszka, Village President, Elk Rapids

Amy Roddy, City Manager, Durand

William Vajda, City Manager, Marquette

Thomas Winarski, Mayor, Gladwin

Michael Forster, Fund Administrator, Michigan Municipal League

[Category: Government/Public Administration]

TNS 24HariCha-140510-30FurigayJane-4731781 30FurigayJane

Copyright:(c) 2014 Targeted News Service


  More Newswires

More Newswires >>
  Most Popular Newswires

More Popular Newswires >>
Hot Off the Wires  Hot off the Wires

More Hot News >>

insider icon Denotes premium content. Learn more about becoming an Insider here.
Are you offering the right health coverage to your senior clients?