Social Security Changes You Need to Know Now.
Women have a lot of reasons to plan for Chronic Illness Care.
Women have a lot of reasons to plan for Chronic Illness Care.
Women have a lot of reasons to plan for Chronic Illness Care.
By Ken de la Bastide, The Herald Bulletin, Anderson, Ind.
McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

May 18--ANDERSON -- Danny Trent didn't have the best car at Anderson Speedway but he found a way to win his third consecutive McGunegill Engine Performance late model feature on Saturday.

During the Spring Championships the field started based on qualifying times which saw Billy VanMeter on the pole after setting a new track record with Mark Lambert on the outside of the front row.

VanMeter jumped into the lead at the start followed by Jeff Marcum, Lambert, Ronnie Rose and Rob Allman. Trent started eighth in the field.

Following the first caution flag for a spin by Ronnie Phipps, Marcum took the point with an outside pass of VanMeter on the front straight.

Trent cracked the top five on lap seven and started his climb to the front, passing Rose on lap 14 entering turn three and two battled for position until Rose got loose exiting turn four and spun in turn one, collecting Kent Baledge.

On the restart Marcum and VanMeter got together on the front straight with both cars spinning to the infield.

That put Lambert and Trent on the front row for the restart, with Trent taking the top spot with an outside pass entering turn three.

Greg VanAlst moved up to the second spot when the fifth and final caution flag waved when Baldege spun in turn three.

Trent held off VanAlst on the restart to post the victory by seven-tenths of a second with Lambert, VanMeter and Marcum rounding out the top five.

"It was a little rough up front," Trent said from the Tim Thompson Nationwide Insurance winner's circle. "I barely missed the action. We had a good car, but not as good as last week. I felt we could challenge for the win."

Anderson's Josh Poore led all 40 laps to win his third consecutive Street Stock feature.

For the third time this season Poore set fast time and went on to record the victory.

Poore was challenged early in the race by defending Anderson Speedway champion Dustin Burge. Burge stayed glued to Poore's rear bumper for the first half of the race, but slipped back and was never in a position to challenge for the win.

Burge came up 1.3-seconds short of his first victory of 2014 with James Kirby, Andrew Cook and Joe Pulley rounding out the top five.

Leave trial and error behind with this powerful tried and true presentation.

Markleville teenager Dylan Hoppes garnered his first ever victory in the Front Wheel Drive oval division when apparent winner Jeff Williams was disqualified following tech inspection.

Jerry Dane led the first ten laps before being passed by Ryan Claborn, who used an outside move entering turn one.

Williams took the lead on lap 14 when Claborn encountered slower traffic in turn three. Hoppes used the outside line the next lap to pass Claborn in turn one.

Following Hoppes to the checkers were Dane, Jared Keller, Brandon Lee Cook and David Powell.

Follow Ken de la Bastide on Twitter @KendelaBastide, or call 640-4863.


(c)2014 The Herald Bulletin (Anderson, Ind.)

Visit The Herald Bulletin (Anderson, Ind.) at

Distributed by MCT Information Services



  More Newswires

More Newswires >>
  Most Popular Newswires

More Popular Newswires >>
Hot Off the Wires  Hot off the Wires

More Hot News >>

insider icon Denotes premium content. Learn more about becoming an Insider here.
Leave trial and error behind with this powerful tried and true presentation.