Austin attorney one of two new judges in Mower County

By Kay Fate, Post-Bulletin, Rochester, Minn.
McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

May 13--ST. PAUL -- Gov. Mark Dayton on Friday announced the appointment of Jeffrey M. Kritzer and Kevin H. Siefken as district court judges in Minnesota'sThird Judicial District.

The two are succeeding Judge Donald E. Rysavy and Judge Fred W. Wellmann. Both appointees will be chambered at Austin in Mower County.

Kritzer is a partner at Baudler, Maus, Forman, Kritzer & Wagner, L.L.P., where his practice focuses on municipal law, employment law, commercial litigation, estate planning and criminal prosecution on behalf of the cities of Austin and Mantorville.

Previously, he was a corporate attorney for Hormel Foods Corp. and an associate attorney for Alderson, Ondov, Leonard, Sween & Rizzi, P.A. Kritzer earned his B.A. from Stanford University and his J.D. from the University of Minnesota School of Law.

Additionally, Kritzer serves on the board of directors and executive committee of the development corporation of Austin and is a former member and chairman of the Austin Public School Board.

Siefken is president and shareholder with Christian and Peterson, P.A., where his caseload includes family law, criminal, civil litigation, child protection and civil commitments. He also serves as Special Assistant Albert Lea Attorney, and previously was an assistant public defender for the Third Judicial District. Siefken earned his B.A. from the University of Northern Iowa and his J.D. from the William Mitchell College of Law.

Additionally, Siefken is the president of Habitat for Humanity Freeborn/Mower, an advisory board member of the Albert Lea Salvation Army, an agency representative to the United Way of Freeborn County, and a volunteer attorney with Southern Minnesota Regional Legal Services.

"Jeffrey Kritzer and Kevin Siefken are both outstanding civic leaders, with extensive legal experience," Dayton said. "They are highly-regarded in their respective legal fields and in their communities. I am confident Mr. Kritzer and Mr. Siefken will serve the people of the Third Judicial District with excellence and integrity."

Let's protect families together.

Minnesota'sThird Judicial District consists of Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca and Winona counties.


(c)2014 the Post-Bulletin

Visit the Post-Bulletin at

Distributed by MCT Information Services



  More Newswires

More Newswires >>
  Most Popular Newswires

More Popular Newswires >>
Hot Off the Wires  Hot off the Wires

More Hot News >>

insider icon Denotes premium content. Learn more about becoming an Insider here.
Let's protect families together.