NAIC Names 2013 Committee Leadership

Targeted News Service

WASHINGTON, Jan. 24 -- The National Association of Insurance Commissioners issued the following news release:

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) has named its 2013 committee chairs and vice chairs, and assigned members to the organization's standing committees.

"This year's committee leadership brings invaluable expertise and insight that will be critical to advancing issues important to our regulatory framework," said Jim Donelon, NAIC President and Louisiana Insurance Commissioner. "Our greatest assets are the deep bench of the membership and the commitment to working together to enhance the national system of state-based regulation. This year's leadership team represents one of the NAIC's strongest yet."

NAIC leadership met earlier this month to make committee assignments based on each member's preferences and experience, as well as requirements established by the NAIC's Bylaws. The 2013 NAIC committee leadership assignments are as follows:

Life Insurance and Annuities (A) Committee

Chair: Julie Mix McPeak, Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance, Insurance Division

Vice Chair: Ralph T. Hudgens, Commissioner, Georgia Office of Insurance

Health Insurance and Managed Care (B) Committee

Chair: Sandy Praeger, Commissioner, Kansas Insurance Department

Vice Chair: Ted Nickel, Commissioner, Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance

Property and Casualty Insurance (C) Committee

Chair: Mike Chaney, Commissioner, Mississippi Insurance Department

Vice Chair: Merle D. Scheiber, Director, South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation, Division of Insurance

Market Regulation and Consumer Affairs (D) Committee

Chair: Sharon P. Clark, Commissioner, Kentucky Department of Insurance

Let's protect families together.

Vice Chair: Stephen W. Robertson, Commissioner, Indiana Department of Insurance

Financial Condition (E) Committee

Chair: Joseph Torti III, Superintendent, Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation, Division of Insurance

Vice Chair: Eleanor Kitzman, Commissioner, Texas Department of Insurance

Financial Regulation Standards and Accreditation (F) Committee

Chair: Eleanor Kitzman, Commissioner, Texas Department of Insurance

Vice Chair: Thomas B. Leonardi, Commissioner, Connecticut Insurance Department

International Insurance Relations (G) Committee

Chair: Thomas B. Leonardi, Commissioner, Connecticut Insurance Department

Vice Chair: William P. White, Commissioner, District of Columbia Department of Insurance, Securities and Banking

The full 2013 NAIC Committee list can be found HERE.(

TNS 61RiaMontes 130125-4177865 StaffFurigay

Copyright: (c) 2013 Targeted News Service
Wordcount: 342


  More Life Insurance News

More Life Insurance News >>
  Most Popular Life Insurance News

More Popular Life Insurance News >>
Hot Off the Wires  Hot off the Wires

More Hot News >>

insider icon Denotes premium content. Learn more about becoming an Insider here.
Let's protect families together.